Nothing to fear except fear itself

as comforting as telling a child

in a dark room the only thing to be afraid of

is the dark

I want to say this is reducous

I can’t say this is ridiculous

the man who said it was standing

with the aid of obscured scaffolding

his fragile legs obscured by the podium

he could not stand

but he stood

facing           the barrel

down             the tracks

w            atching as the blood

a   nnd snarling insatiable

wo oolf chugs down the lines

devouring boundaries

w            iping lands ffrom the face of the planet

destroying history of millions

I

can’t compare myself

only a narcissist could

but when           I sit

my words caught                                 in my throat

silence w r rapping its long strong fingers

aro wund my neck

choking me with cacophonous nothing

 

 

I feel it

I feel     it      inme

it makes me   rigid   and   stiff

a straightjacket that none can undo except t h e prisoner

I am Hhaarry Hhooudini but I forget

thththe key wrests on my tongue and

all I need to do is rest and let the bindings slip from their         holds

w rapping

shaayping

shifting

the bindings

sometimes they  aa r  nothing

usually they are just around my legs

and  I have to hop

or w alk sideways

people say that do not notice my gait

my limp

I carry  a crutch that is  apparently  invisible to  all

except myself

it weeights heavily iin my hands

other days Iyam drowning

I am floundering

imagine being under waterdrowwwningrescue

i i is in ffrontd of you

but out of reach

all you need to do is shout

But You Can’t

 

 

The Water Is Imposing It self

 

 

surrounding you

silence

silence

silence

a silence that hurts

a silence that forces itself upon you

He stood even though he could not stand

I speak even though I cannot speak

